APHA Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Section Mid-Year Conference

This half-day conference provides a meeting space for people new to occupational health, new to our section, support colleagues and advocates who want to present and talk about their work, create opportunities to link with our APHA colleagues to invite them to participate and provide networking opportunities and provide a space for many actors such as community members, unions, workers center members, worker advocates, health and safety advocates, public health practitioners, research and academics, funders, and more to learn about our issues, policies, and practices.

This event is a fundraiser for the Section's scholarship fund. If you are not available to attend the event, but would like to contribute to the scholarship fund, online donations can be made at www.apha.org/donate/OHS-Keogh. If you prefer to mail a check, please include Account # 328066-OHS Section on the check. Send your contributions to APHA Attn. Elsa Greer, 800 I Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001.

Building Bridges to Advance Policy and Action in Occupational Health and Safety

STUDENT REGISTRATION

Date: July 29th, 2021, 10am – 2pm (Pacific Time)

Start time: 1:00PM Eastern/12:00PM Central/11:00AM Mountain/10:00 AM Pacific

Location: Zoom

Cost: Full registration $50. Student registration $20. Proceeds raise money for the OHS Scholarship Fund.  Opportunities to participate are available for those unable to pay. Please contact ce@uw.edu to request more info.

* THIS PAGE is for STUDENT registration *

* Visit the FULL registration page for standard registration *

Learning objectives:

  • Explain the development of APHA policies, including time line of action and review. 
  • Describe the history of OHS policies and how they were developed and implemented to protect worker health and safety.  
  • List ways to use OHS policies in action with workers, government, industry, advocates, students and colleagues.
  • Discuss relevance, use and feasibility of an APHA policy on decent work

Presented in collaboration with APHA OHS Section, the Great Lakes Center for Occupational Health and Safety, and the Northwest Center for Occupational Health and Safety.

    Location

    Virtual course using two-way video conferencing
    Online, 98105
    United States